International E-publication: Publish Projects, Dissertation, Theses, Books, Souvenir, Conference Proceeding with ISBN.  International E-Bulletin: Information/News regarding: Academics and Research

Aqueous Phase Supramolecular Synthesis of 3′-spirocyclic oxindoles Catalyzed by β-cyclodextrin

Author Affiliations

  • 1Department of Chemistry, Bandwan Polytechnic (under DTET-WB), Purulia, West Bengal, INDIA.
  • 2Department of Chemistry, Raja Ranjit Kishore Government Polytechnic College (under DTET-WB), West Midnapore, West Bengal, INDIA

Res.J.chem.sci., Volume 4, Issue (12), Pages 21-33, December,18 (2014)


A high yielding green protocol is described for the synthesis of 3-spirocyclic oxindoles by [3+2] cycloaddition reaction of azomethine ylides to the e δ 12double bond of andrographolide (a natural product isolated from Andrographis paniculata Nees) in water catalyzed by β-cyclodextrin.


  1. Li C.J. and Chen L., Chem. Soc. Rev., 35, 68-73 (2006)
  2. Villiers A., Compt. Rend., 112, 536-540 (1891)
  3. Nayek S., Choudhury I.H., Jaishee N. and Roy S., Res. J. Chem. Sci.,4(9), 63-69, (2014)
  4. Szejtli J. and Osa T., In Comprehensive Supramoleculer Chemistry: Cyclodextrins,eds., Pergamon Press: New York, 3,(1996)
  5. Hashimoto H., J. Inclusion Phenomena and Macrocyclic Chem., 44, 57-62 (2002)
  6. Naskar S., Roy S. and Sarkar S., Syn. Comm., 44, 1629-1634 (2014)
  7. Naskar S., Hazra A., Paira P., Sahu K.B., Banerjee S. and Mondal N.B., J. Chem. Res., 10, 568-573 (2008)
  8. Naskar S., Saha P., Paira R., Paira P.A., Hazra S., Banerjee S. and Mondal N.B., J. Chem. Res., 3, 174-177 (2009)
  9. Lopez-Gresa M.P., Gonzalez M.C., Ciavatta L., Ayala I., Moya P., Primo J., J. Agric.Food Chem., 54, 2921-2925 (2006)
  10. Mugishima T., Tsuda M., Yuu K., Haruaki I., Fukushi E., Kawabata J., Watanabe M., Akao K., Kobayashi J., J. Org. Chem., 70, 9430-9433 (2005)
  11. Hilton S.T., Ho T.C., Pljevalijcic G. and Jones K., Org. Lett.,17, 2639-2643 (2000)
  12. Abdelhamid I.A., Mohamed M.H., Abdelmoniem A.M., Ghozlan S.A.S., Tetrahedron, 65, 10069-10073 (2009)
  13. Suresh Babu A.R. and Raghunathan R., Tetrahedron Lett., 49, 4618-4621 (2008)
  14. Hazra A., Paira P., Sahu K.B., Naskar S., Saha P., Paira R., Mondal S., Maity A., Luger P., Weber M., MondalN.B. and Banerjee S., Tetrahedron Lett., 51, 51-53 (2010)
  15. Sridhar R., Srinivas B., Kumar V.P., Reddy V.P., Kumar A.V. and Rao K.R., Adv. Synth. Catal., 350, 1489-1493 (2008)
  16. Amornraksa K., Grigg R., Gunaratna H.Q.N., Kemp J. and Sridharan V., J. Chem. Soc. Perkin Trans., 1, 2285-2289 (1987)
  17. Zhao D.Y., Yang S.H., Hu M., Ma X.Y., Chin. Chem. Lett., 14, 155-159 (2003)